Criminal Justice & Legal Studies

Quality Indicators & Accreditation

Our Mission

The Department of Criminal Justice and Legal Studies offers degree programs to prepare students for productive careers in law enforcement, corrections, courts, security administration and legal assistance. The program is designed to serve both local and distance learning students through web-based and other formats and is intended to produce knowledgeable students who possess analytical and technical skills to compete in today’s job market.


Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences (ACJS)

In September 2007, Washburn University's MCJ Program became the first graduate program in the country to be certified under the new Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences (ACJS) National Certification Standards and in 2017 the MCJ program passed re-certification as well. ACJS will hold an award ceremony at this year’s conference in New Orleans February 17, 2018.

Advisory Boards

Advisory Boards significantly provide guidance to  the Department of Criminal Justice and Legal Studies in its efforts to accomplish its mission. The Advisory Boards consist of adults in the Topeka community representing the careers available to students who have met our learning outcomes.

Criminal Justice Advisory Board Members (as of March 23, 2017):

  • Ryan Alexander, Department Chair Criminal Justice & Legal Studies Washburn University
  • Sandi Bayless, Director of Security, Westar Energy (Reappointed in 2014)
  • Mark Braun, Honorable Judge, 3rd Judicial District Court: Division 15  (Reappointed in 2014)
  • Ron Brown, Director of School Safety, Topeka Police (Reappointed in 2014)
  • Mark Bruce, KS Highway Patrol
  • Bill Cochran, Captain of Topeka Police, Topeka Police Department  (Appointed in 2015)
  • Brian Cole, Director, Shawnee County Dept. of Corrrections  (Appointed in 2015)
  • Chris Enos, Chief of Police, Washburn Campus Police   (Appointed in 2017)
  • Herman Jones, Sheriff, Shawnee County Sheriff's Office (Appointed in 2015)
  • Doug Jorgensen, KS Fire Marshall
  • Dr. Charles Lenoir, Regional Director National Organization of Black Law Enforcement.
  • Keven Pellant, Adjunct Instructor, Department of Criminal Justice and Legal Studies, Washburn University  (Appointed in 2015)
  • Chris Rosell, CJA President, CJ Student Organization (Appointed in 2016)
  • Jessica Steele, MCJ Graduate Program Representative
  • Krik Thompson, Director, KBI (Appointed 2016)
  • Doria Watson, Office of Civil Rights, KDOT
  • Terri Williams, Chief Developement Officer, Community Solutions (Appointed 2016)

Legal Studies Advisory Board Members (2017):

  • Amy Memmer, J.D. Washburn University Legal Studies Department Coordinator
  • Michelle Watson, J.D. Legal Studies Department
  • Martha Hodgesmith, J.D., Advisory Board President, Research and Training Center on Independent Living, University of Kansas
  • Terry Bezek, J.D., Kansas Court of Appeals, Central Research Staff
  • Barbara Ginzburg
  • Duane Johnson (Citizen Member), Chair, Topeka & Shawnee County Public Library Board of Trustees
  • Justice Marla Luckert, Kansas Supreme Court
  • Susan Macfee, CLA, Kansas Supreme Court
  • Kay Rute, J.D., Emeritus Professor, Washburn University
  • Rosanne Siemens, Technology Management Instructor, Washburn University
  • Glenda Van Syoc, Paralegal, Sloan Law Firm
  • Margaret Vega, Paralegal, Tenopir & Huerter