Education

Contact Us

Write us at:

Department of Education 
Carnegie Hall, Room 202 
1700 SW College Ave. 
Topeka, KS 66621 

Call us at:

Voice: 785-670-1427 
Fax:  785-670-1046

Send us an inquiry:

Fill out my online form.

Visit us in person at:

Carnegie Hall 202
Here is a map of campus with Carnegie Hall and parking noted.

Visit us on Facebook at:

Washburn University Education Department on Facebook

Contact faculty and staff at:

Dr. Carolyn L. Carlson Undergraduate:  Elementary with Middle School English
Graduate:  Reading Specialist, C&I Literacy
(785) 670-1474
carolyn.carlson@washburn.edu
Dr. Gloria Dye
Undergraduate: Adaptive Special Education Grades 6-12
Graduate: Adaptive Special Education Grades 6-12
(785) 670-1432
gloria.dye@washburn.edu
Ms. Katy Etzel General questions about  Education Programs (785) 670-1437
katy.etzel@washburn.edu
Dr. Tim Fry Undergraduate:  Elementary with Middle School History,
Secondary History & Government Grades 6-12 
(785) 670-1476
tim.fry@washburn.edu

Elementary License only
Undergraduate:  Foreign Languages, and Music P-12

Dr. Judith McConnell-Farmer Undergraduate:  Elementary with Early Childhood Birth-Grade 3; AA in Early Childhood Education; and, CDA (Child Development Associate) Credential
(785) 670-1472
judy.mcconnell-farmer@washburn.edu
Ms. Regina Mendoza
General questions about the Education Programs (785) 670-1427
regina.mendoza@washburn.edu

Graduate:  Building Leadership Program, District Leadership Program, C&I Educational Foundations


Undergraduate:  Elementary with Middle School Math,
Secondary Math Grades 6-12

 

Ms. Tara Porter Teacher Licensure Information
Undergraduate:  Secondary Biology, Chemistry, Physical Education Grades 6-12
Graduate:  General C&I Master's Program
(785) 670-1434
tara.porter@washburn.edu
Dr. David Pownell Undergraduate:  Art P-12
Graduate:  C&I with Technology 
(785) 670-1431
david.pownell@washburn.edu
Dr. Michael Rettig Undergraduate:  Elementary with Early Childhood Birth-Grade 3, Elementary with Adaptive Special Education Grades K-6
Graduate:  Adaptive Special Education  Grades K-6
(785) 670-1424
michael.rettig@washburn.edu
Dr. Denise Salsbury
Undergraduate:  EPIC Information, Student Teaching Information, P-12 Programs Information
(785) 670-1473
denise.salsbury@washburn.edu

Dr. Sandra Winn Tutwiler Undergraduate:  Secondary English Grades 6-12
Graduate:  C&I-Art, English, Educational Foundations, Math, Music, Social Science
(785) 670-1435
sandy.tutwiler@washburn.edu