Modern Languages

Contact Us
Modern Languages Morgan Hall, Room 350, 1700 SW College Ave., Topeka, KS, 66621 785.670.1714 modern-languages@washburn.edu

Faculty

Modern Languages Faculty

The faculty and staff of the Modern Languages Department are dedicated to serving Washburn University’s students and larger community by preparing students to be linguistically competent and culturally literate global citizens. 
 

Dr. Miguel Gonzalez-Abellas, instructor of Spanish and Chair of Modern Languages
Dr. Miguel González-Abellás
, Chair

Professor of Spanish
email at: miguel.gonzalez-abellas@washburn.edu
Morgan Hall, Room 350B
(785) 670.2015

  

Dr. Karen Diaz Anchante, instructor of Spanish
Dr. Karen Díaz Anchante

Assistant Professor of Spanish
email at: karen.diazanchante@washburn.edu
Morgan Hall, Room 350D
(785) 670.1507

 

Dr. Gabi Lunte, instructor of German
Dr. Gabi Lunte

Associate Professor of German
email at: gabi.lunte@washburn.edu
Morgan Hall, Room 350A
(785) 670.2014

      

Dr. Marda Messay, instructor of French
Dr. Marda Messay

Lecturer of French
email at: marda.messay@washburn.edu
Morgan Hall, Room 350C
(785) 670.1508 

         

Dr. Michael O'Brien, instructor of Spanish
Dr. Michael O'Brien

Lecturer of Spanish
email at: michael.obrien@washburn.edu
Morgan Hall, Room 355B
(785) 670.1510 

        

Dr. Courtney Sullivan, instructor of French
Dr. Courtney Sullivan

Professor of French
email at: courtney.sullivan@washburn.edu
Morgan Hall, Room 350E
(785) 670.2016

    

Mrs. Georgina Tenny, instructor of Spanish
Mrs. Georgina Tenny

Lecturer of Spanish
email at: georgina.tenny@washburn.edu 
Morgan Hall, Room 350F
(785) 670.2094

 

Modern Foreign Languages Adjuncts

Dr. Yuka Naito-Billen, instructor of Japanese
Dr. Yuka Naito-Billen

Faculty Adjunct of Japanese
email at: yuka.naito-billen@washburn.edu
Morgan Hall, Room 355B
(785) 670.1714
 
 

Dr. Sonja Fay, instructor of German
Mrs. Sonja Rother

Faculty Adjunct of German
email at: sonja.rother@washburn.edu
Morgan Hall, Room 355B
(785) 670.1714

 

Mr. Will Sharp, instructor of Latin
Mr. Will Sharp

Faculty Adjunct of Latin
email at: wileysharp@gmail.com
Morgan Hall, Room 355B
(785) 670.1714

 

Dr. Yuhua Tsui, instructor of Chinese
Dr. Yuhua Tsui

Faculty Adjunct of Chinese
email at: yuhua.tsui@washburn.edu
Morgan Hall, Room 355B
(785) 670.1714