Notable Faculty Achievements

2016 Notable Faculty Achievements in Research, Scholarship, Creative Work

Averett, Michael: The Washburn Faculty Brass Quintet, under the direction of Dr. Averett, will perform at the 2016 International Horn Symposium in New York.

Benda, Karen: Member of the Artistic Committee, ClarinetFest. Performed at the International ClarinetFest, summer 2016 (by selection). Taught Alexander Technique at the Interlochen Arts Institute in June, Interlochen, MI. Performed with WU Faculty Quintet at the 2016 Kansas Music Educators Association (KMEA) conference in Wichita, KS.

Chen, Yu-Fang: Premiered Dr. Chin-Ting’s composition Thread for violin duet at the College Music Society, Great Plains Chapter, Composer’s Concert.

Ding, Shiao-li: Presented a paper at the College Music Society International Conference in Stockholm, Sweden, summer 2015.

Garritano, Andrea: Sang the role of Turandot in the Rimrock Opera production of Turandot in Billings, Montana.

Hunt, Catherine: Developed and taught ED 150: EPIC for Music majors.

Meador, Rebecca: Performed with WU Faculty Quintet at the 2016 Kansas Music Educators Association (KMEA) conference in Wichita, KS.

Morgan, Tom: Dr. Morgan’s composition, The Joy Medley, was reviewed in the journal Percussive Notes.

Placeres, Martha: Named conductor of the Topeka Youth Symphony Orchestra, effective fall 2016.

Snook, Ann Marie: Mezzo soprano soloist in the Topeka Symphony Orchestra presentation of Verdi’s Missa da Requiem, April, 2016.

Snook, Lee: Serves on the board of the Topeka Festival Singers.

Treinen, Craig: International Artist for Eastman saxophones.

2015 Notable Faculty Achievements in Research, Scholarship, Creative Work

Averett, Michael: Adjudicated at the National Trumpet Competition in Washington D.C.

Benda, Karen: Selected for a residency with the Filarmónica Joven de Colombia (Colombian National Youth Orchestra), South America, to teach clarinet.

Ding, Shiao-li: Composed “Postcards from China” for solo piano. This composition received a Palatino Award and is published by the Central Conservatory of Music Publishing House, Beijing, China.

Garritano, Andrea: Poster presentation at the National Opera Association National convention.

Meador, Rebecca: Featured flute soloist, performing Kent Kennan’s Night Soliloquy, with the Washburn University Wind Ensemble. As a member of the National Flute Association Pedagogy Committee, Dr. Rebecca Meador was a contributor to The Selected Flute Quartet Graded Repertoire Guide, published as an online resource by the National Flute Association. 

McQuere, Gordon: Composed “A Prairie Sunset” for choir and small ensemble of 7 instrumentalists, to a text of Walt Whitman. Premiered by the Washburn Choir, Fall 2014.

Morgan, Tom: Toured Israel in June, 2015, as the jazz big band drummer with the I.H.S. World Orchestra. Performances were presented at soldiers hospitals and other venues throughout the country.

Renyer, Erinn: Director of the Topeka Cello Collective.

Snook, Ann Marie: Featured mezzo soprano soloist, performing DeFalla’s “El Amor Brujo” with the Topeka Symphony Orchestra.

Snook, Lee: Performed the bass solos with the WU Orchestra and mass Choral Ensembles in Mozart’s Requiem in Helzberg Hall at the Kauffman Center in Kansas City to commemorate the 60th Anniversary of Brown v. Board of Education.

Treinen, Craig: Selected for inclusion in the 2015 Kansas Music Hall of Fame (Jazz Artist). Director of the Washburn University Coleman Hawkins Summer Jazz Camp.

2014 Notable Faculty Achievements in Research, Scholarship, Creative Work

Averett, Michael: Dr. Averett published 5 articles in the peer-reviewed journal of the International Trumpet Guild. In addition, he coordinated master classes for the trumpet studio with two world-class musicians: Michael Sachs (principal trumpet Cleveland Orchestra) and Tom Hooten (principal trumpet Los Angeles Symphony). In March of 2013, Dr. Averett was a guest clinician at the 2013 National Trumpet Competition in Washington, D.C.

Benda, Karen: Dr. Benda is a member of the clarinet faculty of the summer Interlochen Arts Camp. In addition, she presented a session on “Clarinet Pedagogy for Band Directors” at the Kansas Music Educators annual conference.

Xiao-Li Ding: In the summer of 2014, Dr. Ding presented lectures and a master class at Zhejiang Normal University and Zhejiang University of International Studies. 

Hunt, Catherine: As the MU department Assessment Liaison, Dr. Hunt was invited to create and present a poster regarding the department’s assessment program at the university Assessment Poster Session in January of 2014.

Kellim, Kevin: Has served as Music Director of the Topeka Festival Singers since 1987.

Meador, Rebecca: Dr. Meador is a member of the National Flute Association Pedagogy Committee Quartet Project where she is focusing on elementary level quartet music.

Morgan, Thomas: Dr. Morgan composed River of Life for the consortium of five university percussion professors who commissioned the piece. It will be performed at each of the five schools as well as at the Percussive Arts Society International Convention, Fall 2014.

Snook, Ann Marie: Dr. Snook was invited to serve as Moderator at one of the opening sessions of the 2013 National Association Schools of Music conference in Miami, Florida. In addition, she has received training to qualify her to serve as an NASM evaluator to colleges and universities in conjunction with their accreditation reports.

Snook, Lee: Dr. Snook appeared as guest soloist on the March 2014 Festival Singers Concert. In addition, he was the baritone soloist in Mozart’s Requiem at Helzberg Hall at the Kauffman Center and a second performance in White Concert Hall.

Treinen, Craig: Dr. Treinen is the state Jazz Advisor for the Kansas Music Educator’s Association.


flute ensemble