Student Accomplishments and Teaching Appointments


Amanda McCullough, BA/BM 2011, is currently studying at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln earning her DMA in Music Composition.  She completed her MM in 2013 at UNL where she premiered several pieces for brass and wind ensemble, including a symphony.  In October 2014, Amanda was invited to the Electronic Music Midwest Festival for the piece "Melting Clocks".  In February 2015, Amanda traveled to New York to participate in the Fifteen Minutes of Fame.  On March 1st, 2015,  the Omaha Symphonic Winds performed the world premiere of "The Dreams That Haunt Us" and on May 2, 2015 pieces of Amanda's music will be performed/premiered in a DMA recital at UNL.



The Washburn University Wind Ensemble was selected as the top auditioning concert band and was awarded a performance at the Friday evening concert at the 2013 Kansas Music Educators Conference (KMEA).

Washburn Opera Studio Students, Faculty Artists and Guest Artists, accompanied by the Washburn Orchestra presented two outstanding performances of “A Little Night Music.”

Washburn Opera Studio Students presented at Apeiron.

The Hopscard Brass Quartet participated in the Rafael Mendez Brass Institute in Denver, CO.

Fifteen Washburn Opera Studio Voice Students were awarded WTE grants for a 4 day trip to NYC to attend a performance at the Metropolitan Opera, participate in a master class at the Manhattan School of Music, attend a concert at Opera America, and a Broadway musical.

Jackie Woodworth received the American Pen Women award in Music.

Bailey Altman and Samantha Hendren were fellowship recipients to the Art of the Wind Band Teaching Symposium at the University of Minnesota.

Josh Carter was selected as the principal tuba of the Kansas Intercollegiate Orchestra.

Melanie Herd received the P-12 Outstanding Student Teacher Award in Music for Spring, 2013.

Kathryn Meehan was selected for membership into NONOSO Senior Honorary Society for outstanding Washburn women.

Alexander Price competed in the Great Plains Tuba Young Artist Competition in Kearney, NE.

David Wingerson was a Spring 2013 Sibberson Award Finalist and has also been accepted into several graduate programs in music.

David Wingerson was awarded a teaching assistantship in percussion at Texas Tech University where he will work toward a Master's Degree in Percussion.

Brendan Boyle was selected to participate in Opera in the Ozarks, summer 2013.

Rayna Goldsmith was accepted to participate in the Collegiate Flute Choir at the National Flute Association Convention in New Orleans, LA

Rachel Cross received a WTE grant to study musical theatre at the prestigious Guild Hall in London

Jeff Kready (BME 2005) continues to perform on Broadway and in prestigious theaters across the country.

Matthew Scrivner (BM 2007) has completed a Masters in Vocal Performance and a Masters in Music History at UMKC. Matt is completing a DMA in Vocal Performance and is an adjunct instructor of music at Avila University.

Rochester Elementary students of Anna Reb (BME 2008) won a regional music listening competition this spring and were recognized on the national website of the National Association for Music Education (NAfME).

Von Hanson (BM in Percussion Performance 2009) is completing a DMA in Percussion Performance at the University of Kansas.

Dr. Glenn Nierman (BME 1972) is a professor of music and associate director of the University of Nebraska School of Music. He is also the president-elect of the National Association for Music Education. Dr. Nierman was recognized as a distinguished Alumni Fellow at Washburn in 2012. 


Washburn University Wind Ensemble performance for Sen. Bob Dole “Kansas Walk of Fame” ceremony       

Washburn University Wind Ensemble performed at the CBDNA SW Conference in San Antonio, Texas

Rachel Cross received the American Pen Women award in Music.

Michele Flanagan’s composition Caper of the Blue-Ringed Dancer was premiered by the Washburn University Orchestra.

Josh Carter was selected as the principal tuba of the Kansas Intercollegiate Orchestra.

Jessica Crowder, Lauren Buser and Phillip Watson were awarded 1st, 2nd and 3rd place cash awards at the biennial Topeka Opera Society Scholarship auditions.

Lauren Buser and Jessica Crowder participated in the Naftzger Young Artist Competition.

Matt Mirsch and Jessica Crowder were nominated for the P-12 Outstanding Teacher Award for spring, 2012. Matt received the award.

Jordan Ward, Jessica Vogel, Kelsey Cook and Jessica Crowder have been accepted into graduate programs in music.

Brendan Boyle was selected to participate in Opera in the Ozarks, summer 2012.

Jonathan Huffman and Lindsay Williamson were accepted to participate in the Collegiate Flute Choir at the NFA Convention.

Hopscard Brass presented at Apeiron.

Return to Top of Page
girl playing cello

boy playing trumpet