Forrest Scene

April 2012 News Releases

Recognition ceremony honors Washburn University employees

Washburn University employees received Outstanding Service Awards, a student life award and four faculty members were presented special honors and at the annual Washburn Recognition Ceremony April 17. Washburn employees who celebrated years of service milestones also were honored.

Outstanding Service Award winners and their categories were:

Administrative/technical/paraprofessional category: Jim Fosdick, technology support technician I, information systems and services; and Deborah Moore, director, human resources

Secretarial/clerical category: Lynn Bailey, secretary II, math; Wendy Stafford, secretary II, biology

Service/maintenance category: Mark Noble, electrician; and Colin McGinty, custodial worker

Muriel Clarke Student Life Award: Harrison Watts, assistant professor, criminal justice and legal studies

Faculty receiving honors were:

Roy Myers Excellence in Research Award: James Martin, Snyder Distinguished Lecturer, School of Business

Herrick Faculty Award for Outstanding Service: Pat Munzer, professor and chair, Allied Health

Ned N. Fleming Excellence in Teaching Award: Susie Pryor, assistant professor, School of Business; and Mary Sheldon, associate professor, English

Learn more about each award and previous winners.

Staff recognized for years of service were:

5 years: Janessa Akin, Peter Bonnel, Vickie Brinkley, Marsha Carrasco Cooper, Jim Fosdick, Celeste Hajek, Kris Klima, Farhan Makda, Kent McAnally, Colin McGinty, Chris Mills, George Pershall II, Clayton Peters, Ron Phillips, Becky Smith, Preciosisima Smith, Patricia Starlin, James Watson III, Dan Wieser and Henry Williams

10 years: Linda Barnes, Waldon Brown, Katy Browne, Ann Callies, Chris Leach, DeAnn Leach, Mary Livingston, Patti Mathews, Charlene McCready, Duane Myers, Nancy Platte, Craig Schurig, Becky Shaffer, Sarah Tenfelde-Dubois, Amber Traphagan, Dona Walker and Stacy Woltje

15 years: Dena Anson, Loren Ferre, Jane Stewart, Lyle Waring and Baili Zhang

20 years: Janet Homan, Sonny Luarks, Sue Palmer and Mary Kay Thornburg

25 years: Ronnie Collins and Mary Gruber

30 years: Elaine Gill, Terri Hearrell, Jeanne Kessler, Dee Pierson, Debbie Vinning and Ginger Webber

35 years: Bob Chipman and Bill Shaffer

40 years: Wanda Leppla

Faculty recognized for years of service were:

5 years: Rory Bahadur, Sharla Blank, Carolyn Carlson, Dennis Etzel, Andrew Herbig, Marian Jamison, Robert Loehr, Lori McMillan, Sam Newland, Xiaofeng “Sheldon” Peng, Mary Pilgram, Garspar Porta, Leslie Reynard, Thomas Romig, Tracy Routsong, Laura Sidlinger, Crystal Stevens, Yeqiang “Ye” Wang and Israel Wasserstein

10 years: Karen Camarda, Anna Collins, Shirley Dinkel, Becky Dodge, Andrew Evans, Timothy Fry, Michael McGuire, Gordon McQuere, Jay Memmott, David Pownell, Nan Sun, Susan Washburn and Margaret Wood

15 years: Kevin Charlwood, Miguel Gonzalez-Abellas, Chris Hamilton, Sam Leung, Thomas Prasch, Barbara Stevenson and David Weed

20 years: Shiao-Li Ding, Kevin Kellim and Lynette Petty

25 years: Judith Druse and Glenda Taylor

30 years: Lee Boyd, Paul Prece, Mary Shoop and David Winchester

35 years: Myrl Duncan, Carl Myers and William Rich

Eminentes Universitatis: Dee Pierson

Emeritus: Raylene Hinz-Penner, Ursula Jander and Richard Moellenberndt


  Amanda Hughes, university relations, (785) 670-2153