Forrest Scene

June 2012 News Releases

Washburn University students inducted into Top Hat Chapter of Alpha Lambda Delta

Eighty four Washburn University students were inducted into the Top Hat Chapter of Alpha Lambda Delta. Alpha Lambda Delta is an honor society for students in their first year at an institution of higher education. Alpha Lambda Delta has been in existence since 1924 and recognizes students who have succeeded in maintaining a 3.5 or higher grade point.

Students inducted into Alpha Lambda Delta have taken an oath to continue to maintain high scholarship and to use their education for the benefit of their community, their nation, and the world in which they live.

The students inducted into Alpha Lambda Delta are listed below by hometown and declared major:

Andover: Kathryn “Katy” Davis, biology and Spanish; Elijah Kennedy, criminal justice

Auburn: Kelsie Baumgardner, biology and pre-med

Berryton: Jessica Cooper, nursing

Carbondale: Kyle Matthews, history

Clearwater: Danielle Brown, mass media with an emphasis in advertising

Colby: Kate Ostmeyer, criminal justice

Colony: Kolbie Gilliland, psychology

Derby: Krista Hill, nursing

Dodge City: Vanessa Nunez, undeclared

Edna: Amanda Sorrell, social work

Emporia: Abby Larson, nursing; Jessica Mock, undecided; Tammy Robinson, biology; Blaze Witten, biology and pre-med  

Fairview: Olivia Rosenberger, nursing

Fredonia: Mali Farwell, undecided

Glen Elder: Jordan Nicholson, business with an emphasis in accounting

Great Bend: Ranid McAfee, criminal justice

Hattiesburg, Miss.: Rachel Prior, radiologic technology

Havensville: Jason Gray, English

Hays: Tracy Ewert, criminal justice

Hesston: Emily Juhnke, legal studies

Hiawatha: Paul Stueve, athletic training

Kansas City, Kan.: Chance Barrow, psychology; Nicole Lutsenhizer, mathematics and statistics with an emphasis in actuary science

Lawrence: Christopher Heit, political science; Kelsey Schweer, communication

Lenexa: Elizabeth Sirois, biology and pre-med; Allison Stanchik, radiologic technology

Lindsborg: Baylee Kampfe, psychology

Metairie, La.: Nicole Rufin, radiation therapy

McLouth: Corinne Hoffhines, elementary education with an emphasis in middle school mathematics; Jeri Holwick, nursing

McPherson: Tess Ingermanson, nursing 

Newton: Ryan Blosser, criminal justice; Ashley Murrell, elementary education; Carly Willis, mass media with an emphasis in contemporary journalism

Olathe: Natalie Flaucher, biology

Oskaloosa: Braden McGinnis, business with an emphasis in management; Danielle Steffey, biology and pre-med

Otis: Jennifer Funk, mass media

Overbrook: Jacqueline Woodruff, music education with vocal emphasis vocal emphasis

Overland Park: Emily Elam, kinesiology with an emphasis in physical therapy assistant; Kevin Krouse, philosophy

Pamona: Megan Giffin, nursing and pre-med

Parsons: Tanner Bernd, business with an emphasis in accounting

Sabetha: Gabrielle Bauman, secondary education with an emphasis in biology; Emily Cox, elementary education

Salina: Chandler Loomis, radiologic technology; Jordan Loomis, mass media; Jordan Schmitz, business with an emphasis in accounting; Macie Tomson, radiologic technology 

Scott City: Karli Cooper, criminal justice

Seneca: Kevin Burdiek, business with an emphasis in finance

Silver Lake: Zachary Christy, nursing

Shawnee: Cassandra White, history

St. George: Amy Eshelman, radiologic technology

St. Marys: Alena Whitehead, nursing

Tecumseh: Patrick Dahlman, music education; Candace Gutzwiller, nursing; Kayla Stadler, undecided   

Topeka: Morgan Baldwin, business; Shawn Bryant, undecided; Rachel Clarke, nursing; Taylor Conwell, undecided; James Davis, business with an emphasis in accounting; Hannah Figgs, undecided; Emily Griffin, social work; Krystal Harry, music education ; Trae Johnson, undecided;  Mudasar Khan, political science; Chante Mitchell, communications with an emphasis in corporate; Ryan Ogle, mass media with an emphasis in contemporary journalism; Caitlyn Priddy, elementary education; Ryan Roe, history with an emphasis in education; Jennifer Rosebaugh, undecided; Shelby Tajchman, kinesiology with an emphasis in athletic training; Sierra Valdivia, kinesiology; Kayla-Brie Van Buren, legal studies       

Troy: Steven Clary, biology

Westmoreland: Ashley Altenhofen, nursing

Wichita: Rachel Proffitt, biology; Chase Sachs, legal studies  

- 30 -

Student life office, (785) 670-2100

National Alpha Lambda Delta, (478) 744-9595

Amanda Hughes, university relations, (785) 670-2153