Forrest Scene

January 2013 News Releases

Washburn University names Garvey Competitive Scholarship winners

Twenty-six high school students have been awarded Garvey Competitive Scholarships from Washburn University. Up to $20,000 will be given to the recipients who attend Washburn during the 2013-14 academic year.

Students were eligible to sit for the scholarship test if they currently have a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 or above, will graduate in spring 2013, and be accepted to Washburn University. Garvey scholarships may be renewed up to four years if the student enrolls full time at Washburn and maintains a cumulative grade point average of 3.00. The late Ray Hugh and Olive White Garvey, both Washburn graduates, established the scholarship fund.

Students logging the highest scores will receive from $500 to $2,000 per year.

Scholarship winners are listed by hometown, followed by the high schools they attend:

Ashland, Mo.: Samuel Jones, homeschool
Auburn: Joshua Copp, Cair Paravel Latin School
Baileyville: Hannah Hasenkamp, B & B High School
Burlington: Breanna Bowers, Burlington High School
Clearwater: Madison Rausch, Clearwater High School
Elkhorn, Neb.: Leanna Willer, Elkhorn High School
Emmett: Deanna Toenjes, St. Marys High School
Goodland: Jeffrey House, Goodland High School
Hillsboro: Meghan Leihy, Hillsboro High School
Hutchinson: Katelynn Robinson, Trinity Catholic High School
Kansas City, Mo.: Jesse Kovac, Saint Pius X High School
Lenexa: Jack Vandeleuv, St. James Academy
Lincoln: Kyle Breneman, Lincoln High School; and Arne Lonberger, Lincoln High School
Maple Hill: Sophie Mioni, St. John Vianney
Newton: Mariah Smith, Newton High School
Olathe: Ellen Glasgow, Olathe East High School
Tecumseh: Zachary Macke, Shawnee Heights High School
Topeka: William Hesse, Washburn Rural High School; Connor Kean, Washburn Rural High School; Marissa Mannell, Topeka West High School; Katelyn Peele, Shawnee Heights High School; Corey Perkins, Seaman High School
Udall: Hunter Dewald, Mulvane High School
Wichita: Stephen Garton, Wichita eSchool


Matt Hall, admissions counselor, office of admissions, 785-670-1904
Amanda Hughes, university relations, 785-670-2153