Forrest Scene

March 2013 News Releases

Students to exhibit at Mulvane Art Museum

Thirty-three works will be featured in the 2014 student art show April 5 through May 11 at the Mulvane Art Museum, Washburn University.

The show, which highlights art by Washburn students, will open with a reception and awards ceremony from 5 to 8 p.m., Friday, April 5 at the museum.   The show also provides an opportunity to students and the community to see the works in a professional setting.

Juror was Dan Kirchhefer, professor of drawing and printmaking at Emporia State University.  In his remarks, Kirchhefer noted he was looking "for art that is well-crafted with the hand of the artist evident, with a thought-provoking narrative, containing enough complexity to draw the viewer in."

The Mulvane Art Museum, ArtLab and gift shop are open 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday; 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Wednesday through Friday and 1 to 4 p.m. Saturday and Sunday.  Admission free. The museum is closed major holidays and will be closed Sunday, April 8.

The Mulvane is located on the campus of Washburn University, at 17th and Jewell Streets.  Free parking is available west of the Museum. Call 785-670-1124 or go to

Students participating, listed by their hometowns, and their works are:

  • Auburn:  Brielle Underhill
  • Carbondale:  Megan Christine Barnes
  • Carson City, Nev.:  Asha Rae Slack
  • Denver, Colo.:  James Martin
  • Effingham: Tiffanie Locke
  • Hiawatha:  Karen Pyle
  • Houston, Texas:  William Drake
  • Lawrence:  Mavis Meyer
  • Perry:  Katie Child
  • St Marys: Maria Haag, Jessica McAtarian
  • Shawnee:  Katie Mantooth
  • Tecumseh:  Daniele Osterhaus
  • Topeka:  Jared Benson, Ryan Calderwell, Stephanie Cavanaugh, Miranda F. Figgs, Jason Hanna, Chelsea Howe, Julian Jenkins, Ryan Johnson, Alex Olson, Gabriel Palma, Grace Phelps-Roper, Tyler Quintin, Christian Sauerman, Rachel Seuell, Drew Simons, Kaitlyn Snow, Aaron Steuber, Julie Velez, Nicole Wilson
  • Wellsville:  Jacob Lewis                                                 


Dena Anson, university relations, 785.670.1711