Forrest Scene

May 2013 News Releases

Founding members of Mortar Board chapter initiated at Washburn University

Sixty-six students were inducted recently into the Ichabod Chapter of the National Senior Honor Society of Mortar Board at Washburn University. 

Mortar Board, Inc. is a national honor society which recognizes college seniors for distinguished ability and achievement in scholarship, leadership and service.  Founded in 1918 as the first national organization honoring senior college women, the Society opened its membership to men in 1975. Since 1918, more than 240,000 college students have been initiated into Mortar Board.

New members are:

Coldwater:  Rachael Johnson

Abilene:  Bonnie McKee

Atchison:  Morgan Nolte

Axtell:  Jessica Peschel

Cheney:  Brian Oxendine

Denton:  Mollie Tharp

Edna:  Amanda Sorrell

Emporia:  Zack Hill

Everest:  Easlyn Haase

Garden City:  Rachel Klaus

Hugoton:  Tyler Concannon

Independence:  Anthony Kyle Davis

Kansas City, Kan.:  Jenna Frick

Lee’s Summit, Mo.:  Zachary Phillips

McPherson:  Haley LeBlanc

Mound City:  Jessie McGown

Newton:  Meaghan McEachern

Overland Park:  Afton Kissinger

Sioux Falls, S.D.:  Brianna Ament

Stockton:  Stephen Moll; Hayley Strutt;

Tipton:  Ashley Garcia

Tonganoxie:  Cristina Rubio

Topeka:  Hannah Abernathy, Evan Arnold, Marissa Bradley; Jen Kaspar; Garrett Mazachek; Kathryn Meehan; Jaclyn Ochsner; David Render; Josh Rosebaugh; Sam Sayler; Chelsea Sevigny; Sydney Spyres; Hang Ping Sun; Kelsey Thiesse n

Waterloo, Neb.:  Laura Depke

Waukee, Iowa:  Sarah Hayden

Westmoreland:  Heidi Hamic


(Dena Anson, 785-670-1711)