Forrest Scene

May 2013 News Releases

Students receive departmental scholarships at Washburn University

Washburn University mass media students were recently awarded departmental scholarships. Receiving scholarships are:

Bison:  Bradley Pechanec, Zula Bennington Green Scholarship
Carbondale:  Elizabeth Burgett, Zula Bennington Green Scholarship

Garden Plain:  Thad M. Sandstrom Scholarship

Mayetta:  Patricia Peterson, Oscar S. Stauffer Scholarship

Newton:  Lynh Tran, Thad M. Sandstrom Scholarship

Salina:  Jordan Loomis, Thad M. Sandstrom Scholarship

Topeka: Zoe Brown, Zula Bennington Green Scholarship; Jeri Fowler, Zula Bennington Green Scholarship;  Amanda Narverud, Oscar S. Stauffer Scholarship; Ryan Ogle, Zula Bennington Green Scholarship;  Fatima Oubaid, David C. Beeder Scholarship.

The Zula Bennington Greene Endowed Scholarship was established by Stauffer Communications and friends and is awarded to students enrolled in mass media with a 2.5 grade point average or higher. Zula Bennington Greene was a longtime columnist for the Topeka Capital-Journal, for which she wrote the “Peggy of the Flint Hills” column.

 David C. Beeder Mass Media Scholarship was established by family and friends to provide financial assistance for students studying journalism at Washburn. David C. Beeder had a 43-year journalism career, including 12 years as chief of the Omaha World-Herald’s Washington BureaOscar S. Stauffer Scholarship was established by Stan and John Stauffer in memory of their father, Oscar, who was the founder and publisher of Stauffer Communications (Topeka Capital-Journal).

Thad M. Sandstrom Memorial Scholarship was established by friends of Sandstrom, who was a longtime general manager of WIBW. This scholarship is awarded to a deserving student majoring in the field of mass media.

For more information, contact the mass media department at (785) 670-1836.


(Dena Anson, 785- 670-1711)