Forrest Scene

November 2013 News Releases

High school students win Math Day honors

Teams representing Olathe South, Hayden, Basehor-Linwood high schools and Maur Hill Mount Academy won first place honors in their respective class designations at the recent 2013 Math Day competition at Washburn University.

Evan Eschliman, a senior at Olathe South High, earned the top score on the placement test.

The team from Basehor-Linwood High were the inaugural winners of the new event, Mathnificent Race, a scavenger hunt on campus for which they were given only math-related clues.
Participating in the event were 115 students, with awards determined on the basis of scores earned in a competitive examination. Schools participating included Atchison County Community, Effingham; Basehor-Linwood High, Basehor; Clay Center High; Hayden High; Highland Park High; Maur Hill Mount Academy, Atchison; McLouth High; Northern Heights High, Allen; Olathe South High; Seaman High; Topeka High; Topeka West High; Valley Falls High; and Wellsville High.

 Winners of team awards were:

Class 1A, 2A & 3A:
            First place: Maur Hill-Mount Academy, Atchison (team members Hugh Li, Mark Ma, Siqi Xue).

Second place:  Atchison County Community High School, Effingham (team Katie Barnes, Andrew Miller, Presley Rodecap).

 Class 4A:
            First place: Hayden High (team members Zack Mryyan, Kassy Short, Mengjia Xu).

Second place: Basehor-Linwood High (team members Kennedy Bowers, Abraham Ruffcorn, Nathan Strange).

Class 5A & 6A:
            First place: Olathe South High (team members Evan Eschliman, Navya Prabushankar, Callie Vanwinkle).

Second place: Seaman High (team members Michael Devoe, Rachel Heald, Gabriellee Price).

Winners of individual awards were:
First place, senior:  Evan Eschliman, Olathe South High
Second place, senior:  Mark Ma, Maur Hill-Mount Academy
Third place, senior:  Siqi Xue, Maur Hill-Mount Academy

First place, non-senior:  Callie Vanwinkel, Olathe South
Second place, non-senior:  Maggie Yin, Maur Hill-Mount Academy
Third place, non-senior:  Alice Chen, Olathe South

For more information, call (785) 670-1491. 


 (Dena Anson, 785-670-1711)