Forrest Scene

November 2013 News Releases

Washburn students into Phi Kappa Phi national honor society

Forty-five Washburn University students have been inducted into the Phi Kappa Phi national honor society.

Those elected to membership include juniors in the top 7.5 percent of their class and seniors in the top 10 percent of their class, along with outstanding graduate students, faculty, professional staff and alumni.

Phi Kappa Phi, founded in 1897, is the nation's oldest all-discipline honor society. The mission of the organization is to recognize and promote academic excellence in all fields of higher education and to engage the community of scholars in service to others.

Inductees will be:

Berryton:  James Sandgren

Council Grove:  Besty Wooden

DeSoto:  Andrew Rhodes

Denton:  Mollie Tharp

Ellinwood:  Tara Haddon

Emporia:  Blaze Witten

Gardner:  Olivia Shepherd

Hesston:  Emily Juhnke

Hiawatha:  Paul Stueve

Hoisington:  Luke Warnken

Holcomb:  Tiffany O’Rourke

Junction City:  Danica Angeles

Kansas City, Mo.:  Brett Shanks

Lawrence:  Cody Bonhem, Joanna Fleming, Holly Mayer, Katarzyna Potocka

Leavenworth:  Rachel King

Manhattan:  Meghan Dowell

Marysville:  Holly Mayer

McLouth:  Cassidy Briston

Overland Park:  Alison Poutious

Perry:  Katherine Child

Russell, Manitoba, Canada:  Tyson Nernberg

St. Marys:  Mary-Lucia Darst

Silver Lake:  Joseph Jordan

Topeka:  Scott Brackey, Lynn Cook, Adrianne Cooper, Caitlin Edgar, Susan Engelhardt, Keri Garcia, Krystal Harry, Sarah Hayden, Adrienne Hearrell, Travis Hirt, Grant Klise, Rhandyl Miller, Colin Scott, Margeaux Seymour, Juliana Sollars, Chelsea Stringfellow, Timothy Traynor, Ashley Vega, Kenny Yates

Westmoreland:  Heidi Hamic


Contact:  Dena Anson, 785-670-1711