Full-time & Part-time Faculty


Dr. Jane Carpenter

Dr. Jane Carpenter, RN, MSN, PhD

Associate Professor
Dean

(785) 670-1469
jane.carpenter@washburn.edu
PC 203 A


Dr. Debbie Isaacson

Dr. Debbie Isaacson, RN, MSN, DNP

Assistant Professor
Associate Dean Undergraduate Nursing Programs, Director of Assessment

(785) 670-1531
debbie.isaacson@washburn.edu
PC 203 J

Dr. Isaacson earned a BSN from Fort Hays State University, a MSEd in School Nursing/Health Education from the University of Kansas, and a DNP in Systems Leadership from Rush University, Chicago. Her nursing experience is with pediatrics: acute care, school nursing, and camp nursing. She is currently the PI for a HRSA NEPQR grant that focuses on preparing RNs as primary care nurses. Her DNP project focused on undergraduate nursing curriculum.


Caren Dick

Caren Dick, RN, MSN

Assistant Professor

(785) 670-1447
caren.dick@washburn.edu
WH 375

 


Belinda Eckert

Belinda Eckert, RN, MSN

Assistant Professor

(785) 670-1528
belinda.eckert@washburn.edu
WH 374

 


Dr. Mary Menninger-Corder

Dr. Mary Menninger-Corder, RN, PhD

Assistant Professor

(785) 670-1204
mary.menninger-corder@washburn.edu
WH 381

Dr. Menninger-Corder has been a registered nurse for 38 years. She is a graduate of the 5th SON class at Washburn University. She received her PhD from KUMC in 2010 with a minor in Informatics. She has a wide and varied experience in nursing from ICU to Hospice and has been an educator, nurse clinician, and entrepreneur. Currently she teaches classes to freshman entering Washburn for their first college experience to those entering Washburn's DNP program. Her academic focus is Adult-Learning andragogy.


Dr. Lara Rivera

Dr. Lara Rivera, RN, CNM, DNP

Assistant Professor

(785) 670-3226
lara.rivera@washburn.edu
WH 373

 


Dr. Shirley Waugh

Dr. Shirley Waugh, RN, MSN, PhD

Assistant Professor

(785) 670-2179
shirley.waugh@washburn.edu
WH 380

Dr. Waugh earned her BSN in 1981 from the University of Kansas, her MSN from Washburn University in 2009 (Public Health Track), and her PhD in Nursing from the University of Kansas in 2015 with a minor focus of Research Methods for Patient Safety and Care. She has worked in critical care, dialysis, and more recently medical-surgical nursing. Her dissertation research focused on pressure ulcer prevention and reliability of quality indicators. Dr. Waugh teaches in the undergraduate and graduate nursing programs.


Dr. Crystal Stevens

Dr. Crystal Stevens, RN, MSN, DNP

Associate Professor

(785) 670-1421
crystal.stevens@washburn.edu
WH 383

 


Michelle Heusi

Michelle Heusi, RN, APRN

Lecturer

(785) 670-1207
michelle.heusi@washburn.edu
WH 372

 


Erica Hill

Erica Hill, RN, MSN

Lecturer

(785) 670-1532
erica.hill@washburn.edu
WH 378

Erica began teaching in the Washburn nursing program in 2017. Prior to that she was an adjunct instructor at Baker University for 4 years. Most of her 21-year nursing career has been spent at the bedside in the areas of pediatric and adult ICU, PACU at Stormont Vail Hospital. Erica completed both her BSN (1999) and MSN (2007) at the University of Kansas. Her graduate focus was in organizational leadership in nursing.

 


Erinn Howard

Erinn Howard, RN, MSN, DNPc

Lecturer

(785) 670-1206
erinn.howard@washburn.edu
WH 376

 


Susan Maendele

Susan Maendele, RN, MSN

Lecturer

(785) 670-1418
susan.maendele@washburn.edu
WH 382

 


Deb Rector

Deb Rector, RN, MSN

Lecturer

(785) 670-1814
deb.rector@washburn.edu
WH 379

 


Angie Russell

Lecturer

(785) 670-1053
angie.russell@washburn.edu
PC 203 M

 


Dennis Schafers

Dennis Schafers, RN, MSN, APRN

Lecturer

(785) 670-1959
dennis.schafers@washburn.edu
PC 203 L

Dennis Schafers is a board certified nurse practitioner in psychiatric medicine. His background includes care of clients from children to adults. He has worked with individuals, families, and groups. He received his Master’s of Science in Nursing from the University of Texas at Austin.  After graduating he worked for the Menninger clinic in Topeka, Kansas.  He started working for Washburn university in 2012. He started his pursuit of his psychiatric-mental health nurse practitioner certificate at Washburn so he could develop a practice that integrates medicine and mental health.

In addition to his professional experience, Dennis has pursued complementary and alternative therapeutic modalities in psychodrama, humor, and mindfulness.  His interests include the integration of compassionate care in the mental health field. 


Kathy Ure

Kathy Ure, RN, MSN

Lecturer
COACH Director

(785) 670-1238
kathy.ure@washburn.edu
PC 203 H

Kathy Ure has been an RN for over 35 years. She received her MSN in nursing administration from Fort Hays. Her areas of interest and experience include OB, administration, TeamSTEPPS, community/public health, and high impact initiatives. She is currently the Director of the Collaberative Outreach Advancing Community Health (COACH) Program.


Amy White

Amy White, RN, MSN

Lecturer
Simulation Coordinator

(785) 670-1505
amy.white1@washburn.edu
PC 203 S

Amy White recently celebrated her 25th year in nursing. Her experience in resuscitation science started in the Emergency Department with BLS, ACLS, TNCC, and PALS as a staff RN and has continued through my experiences in teaching PALS, NRP and Simulation in the acute care environment. She enjoys education in all forms and look forward to learning more about all of you.


Adjunct Faculty

Brooke Faria da Cunha

Brooke Faria da Cunha, RN, MSN, APRN-C

Adjunct

brooke.fariadacunha@washburn.edu

 


Jill Ladd

Jill Ladd, MPH, RD, LD

Adjunct

jill.ladd@washburn.edu

 


Dr. Linsy Ogden, RN, DNP, APRN, FNP-C, PMHNP-BC

Adjunct

linsy.ogden@washburn.edu

Dr. Ogden is a Washburn University of School of Nursing graduate with her BSN in 2009, MSN with family nurse practitioner in 2013, and DNP with mental health emphasis in 2018. She is a certified family and psychiatric nurse practitioner. She has been teaching at Washburn in the School of Nursing since 2011 as an adjunct. She works full-time as an outpatient psychiatric nurse practitioner at the Topeka VA and works PRN as an inpatient psychiatric nurse practitioner at Stormont Vail Health.


Sue Unruh, RN, MSN

Adjunct

sue.unruh@washburn.edu
PC 203 N

 


Adjunct Clinical Faculty

Deborah Altus

Adjunct - Clinical Faculty

deborah.altus@washburn.edu

 


Deborah Armay

Adjunct - Clinical Faculty

debbie.armay@washburn.edu

 


Natalie Blankingship

Adjunct - Clinical Faculty

natalie.blankingship@washburn.edu

 


Angela Cloud

Adjunct - Clinical Faculty

angela.cloud@washburn.edu

 


Kristin Cunningham

Adjunct - Clinical Faculty

kristin.cunningham@washburn.edu

 


Garrett DeLong

Adjunct - Clinical Faculty

garrett.delong@washburn.edu

 


Shelly Dudley

Adjunct - Clinical Faculty

shelly.dudley@washburn.edu

 


Molly Glauner

Adjunct - Clinical Faculty

molly.glauner@washburn.edu

 


Doris Hancock

Adjunct - Clinical Faculty

doris.hancock@washburn.edu

 


Cheryl Harrison

Adjunct - Clinical Faculty

cheryl.harrison@washburn.edu

 


Kellie Hartman

Adjunct - Clinical Faculty

kellie.hartman@washburn.edu

 


Amanda Hogg

Adjunct - Clinical Faculty

amanda.hogg@washburn.edu

 


Erica Hughes

Adjunct - Clinical Faculty

erica.hughes@washburn.edu

 


Rebecca Hurla

Adjunct - Clinical Faculty

rebecca.hurla@washburn.edu

 


Katie Johnson

Adjunct - Clinical Faculty
Director

(785) 670-1235
katie.johnson1@washburn.edu
PC 206

 


Cecelia Leakey

Adjunct - Clinical Faculty

cece.leakey@washburn.edu

 


Tiffany Noller

Adjunct - Clinical Faculty

tiffany.noller@washburn.edu

 


Katherine Orme

Adjunct - Clinical Faculty

katherine.orme@washburn.edu

 


Shelbi Potts

Adjunct - Clinical Faculty

shelbi.potts@washburn.edu

 


Hannah Prohaska

Adjunct - Clinical Faculty

hannah.prohaska@washburn.edu

 


Tonya Raaf

Adjunct - Clinical Faculty

tonya.raaf@washburn.edu

 


Johnathan Reeves

Adjunct - Clinical Faculty

johnathan.reeves@washburn.edu

 


Dr. Courtney Robb, RN, MSN, DNP

Adjunct - Clinical Faculty

courtney.robb@washburn.edu

 


Stephanie Saunders

Adjunct - Clinical Faculty

stephanie.saunders@washburn.edu

 


Bailey Schaefer

Adjunct - Clinical Faculty

bailey.schaefer@washburn.edu

 


Barbara Stevenson

Adjunct - Clinical Faculty

barb.stevenson@washburn.edu

 


back to top button