## **Assessment Committee Minutes**

4.27.22

Present: Jericho Hockett, Tara Lindahl, Emily Grant, Christa Smith, Beth O'Neill, Gloria Dye, Bobby Tso, Jennifer Ball, Danny Wade, Bassima Schleby

Absent: Benjamin Reed, Debbie Isaacson, Erin Grant, Linzi Gibson, Melanie Burdick, Michael McGuire, Steve Hageman, Tom Hickman

Old Business

NA

## **New Business**

- Assessment Grant Report
  - o Budget is \$10k for the fiscal year
  - o This round \$5,950 were awarded
  - Special thanks to Gloria Dye, Michael McGuire, and Linzi Gibson for serving on the grant subcommittee
- Assessment Award Report
  - The new rubric and process were implemented for this award cycle which were created and revised in Fall 2021 with the goal of making the process more accessible.
  - Criteria for the awards includes but is not limited to, program review, grant involvement, and CTEL involvement.
  - The awards will be announced at CTEL's Celebration of Teaching.
    - Rising Star award will go to Allied Health
    - Achiever award will go to Psychology
  - Special thanks to Emily Grant, Michael McGuire, and Bobby Tso for serving on the award subcommittee.
  - After feedback from the subcommittee and the programs that submitted materials, revisions will be made for the next cycle.
- Timeline of program assessment
  - The timeline from last year will be used again this year.
  - Those involved will select a due date for themselves, either June 30 or the beginning of August, so those who are not contracted to work over the summer will not be pressured to work.
  - Zoom sessions on Taskstream as well as how to form submissions (crossreferencing, accurate communication, etc.) will be offered.
  - There will be a joint review session in person. As soon as materials come in, you
    can start reviewing. This meeting will take place early in the fall semester as
    voted on by the committee.
- Introduce the new Assessment Director

- Beth O'Neill is the incoming Director of Assessment. She will begin in June and have one month of overlap with Jericho for training purposes.
- If you have recommendations or suggestions for Beth and Jericho to discuss, please email <u>Jericho.Hockett@washburn.edu</u> and/or <u>Beth.Oneill@washburn.edu</u>.
- Many thanks were expressed by the committee to Jericho for her work during her time as director.
- More information on Beth O'Neill: She has a Ph.D. from the University of Kansas. She has been in Washburn's Social Work department since 2018. During her time at Washburn she has been involved with the Social Work assessment committee and became the chair of the committee in 2020. She oversaw the transition to a new data collection system, including temporary and permanent solutions. She teaches a quantitative research class, received an Assessment grant recently, and has strengths in teaching, project management, partnerships, and familiarity with assessment tools, strategies, and best practices.

Action Items NA