Thomas Prasch (WU 1997- )

Tom PraschProfessor and Chair
BA 1974 University of Nebraska; MA 1977 University of Nebraska; PhD 1995 Indiana University
Teaching fields: Europe, Victorian Britain, World Survey
Research fields: Victorian England
Department Office/Phone: HC 311-A: (785) 670-1892
E-mail: tom.prasch@washburn.edu


Rachel Goossen (WU 2000- )

Rachel GoossenProfessor
BA 1982, Bethel College; MA 1984, University of California (Santa Barbara); PhD 1993, University of Kansas
Teaching fields: Modern US History, US Women, Secondary Education (History & Social Sciences)
Research fields: U.S. Women's History; Peace History, Conscientious Objection; Mennonite History
Department Office/phone: HC 311-D; (785) 670-1762
E-mail: rachel.goossen@washburn.edu   

 


Kim Morse (WU 2003- )

Kim MorseProfessor
BA University of Kansas; MA 1995 Indiana University; PhD 2000 University of Texas, Austin
Teaching fields: Latin American history, Latin American Indigenous and Religious history, Borderlands, World survey
Research fields: 19th-century Venezuela
Department Office/Phone: HC 311-B; (785) 670-2059
E-mail: kim.morse@washburn.edu

 


Alan Bearman (WU 2003- )

Alan BearmanProfessor and Dean of University Libraries
BA 1998 Murray State University; BS 1999 University of Kentucky; MA Murray State 2000; PhD 2005 Kansas State University
Teaching fields: Colonial and Revolutionary America, History of Christianity, American Religious History, Reformation
Research fields: Anglo-American Christianity, Colonial America
Department Office/phone: HC 311C; (785) 670-1855
Webpage: http://www.washburn.edu/faculty/abearman
E-mail: alan.bearman@washburn.edu


Kerry Wynn (WU 2006- )

Kerry WynnAssociate Professor
BA 1998 Bradley University; PhD 2005, University of Illinois (Champaign-Urbana)
Teaching fields: Women, Native-American, U.S. Survey
Research fields: Women & Gender
Department Office/Phone: HC 311-P; (785) 670-2062
E-mail: kerry.wynn@washburn.edu


Bruce Mactavish (WU 1998- )

Bruce MactavishAssistant Professor
BA 1983, Furman University; MA 1988, PhD 1993; University of Mississippi
Teaching fields: Civil War, African-American, US survey
Research fields: 19th-century South, rural communities
Department Office/Phone: HC 311-F; (785) 670-2063
E-mail: bruce.mactavish@washburn.edu


Kelly Erby (WU 2011- )

Kelly ErbyAssociate Professor and Assistant Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences
BA 2004 The Ohio State University; MA 2007 Emory University; PhD 2012 Emory University
Teaching fields: U.S. history; social and cultural history; race and ethnicity; gender; urban-development
Research fields: nineteenth-century social and cultural history
Department Office/Phone: HC 311-O; (785) 670-2018
E-mail: kelly.erby@washburn.edu


Anthony Silvestri (WU 2008- )

Tony SilvestriLecturer
BA 1987 Loyola Marymount University; MA 1992 University of Southern California; PhD 1995 University of Southern California
Teaching fields: World history survey, Ancient Greece, Ancient Rome, Medieval Europe, Traditional Japan
Research fields: Medieval Manuscripts, Intellectual History, Ancient Religions
Department Office/Phone: HC 311-C; (785) 670-1862
E-mail: tony.silvestri@washburn.edu


Jia Feng (WU 2017 - )

Geography Lecturer
BE 2004 Urban and Regional Planning, Nanjing University, Nanjing, China
MA 2009 Geography, Miami University, Oxford, OH
MS 2012 Statistics and Probability, Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI PhD 2016 Geography, Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI Teaching fields: World Regional Geography, Geographic Information System
Research fields: Migrant Enclaves in Urban China
Department Office/Phone: HC311-N: (785) 670-1127
E-mail: jia.feng@washburn.edu


Department staff

Robin Shrimplin
Senior Administrative Assistant
Department Location/Phone: HC 311 main office; (785) 670-2060
E-mail: robin.shrimplin@washburn.edu   


Adjunct Faculty

Dr. Joel Gillaspie - E-mail joel.gillaspie@washburn.edu

Jennifer Wiard - E-mail jennifer.wiard@washburn.edu


Emeriti Faculty 

William Wagnon (WU 1968-2008)
Professor Emeritus
E-mail:bill.wagnon@washburn.edu 

Kennett Cott (WU 1969-2003)
Professor Emeritus
E-mail: ken.cott@washburn.edu 

Marilyn Geiger (WU 1962-2000)
Professor Emerita
E-mail: marilyn.geiger@washburn.edu

Sara Tucker (WU 1975-2009)
Professor Emerita
AB 1968 Oberlin College; MA 1975; PhD 1982 Indiana University (Bloomington)
Teaching fields: China, Middle East, Women, World Survey.
Research fields: 19th-20th century women; teaching and computer technology
E-mail preferred sara.tucker@washburn.edu

back to top button