About the Board

By law, Washburn University is governed by a nine member Board of Regents. The Governor and the Mayor of the city of Topeka each appoint three members. One is the Mayor or a member of the city’s governing body. The Shawnee County Commission and the Kansas Board of Regents each appoint one member. The Kansas Regents’ appointee serves a one year term; all other members serve staggered four year terms.

Gubernatorial Appointees:

Shelly Buhler, Chair
Craig Hulse
Angel Romero

Mayoral Appointees:

John Nave

18th State Senate District
19th State Senate District
20th State Senate District

Jennifer Sourk

John Dietrick, Vice Chair

County Commission Appointee:

Terry Beck


Michael Padilla

Kansas Regent Appointee:

John B. Dicus

Washburn University is also coordinated by the Kansas Board of Regents.

Upcoming Meeting Dates

Monday, November 14 - 12:00 p.m. - Memorial Union, Kansas Room

Thursday, December 8 - 4:00 p.m. - Washburn Tech, Conference Center

Thursday, February 2 - 4:00 p.m. - Memorial Union, Kansas Room

Thursday, March 23 - 4:00 p.m. - Memorial Union, Kansas Room

back to top button