Dedicated to student success and community growth

Washburn's leadership team is focused on student success, supporting faculty and staff as well as managing the day-to-day operations of our campuses. Washburn, one of only three municipal universities in the country, is locally governed by the Washburn Board of Regents and guided by systematic strategic planning. President Mazachek and her cabinet are committed to providing a premier campus learning experience for all students. Projects and initiatives are guided by what is best for students, our campus community as well as the community we are privileged to call home.

JuliAnn Mazachek

Welcome to Washburn

Welcome to Washburn University, a public regional university that is committed to academic excellence and affordability as we prepare our students to achieve their dreams upon graduation.

So what sets us apart? We believe our people make the true difference. Whether you pursue a liberal arts or professional degree, you will be taught by accomplished faculty who put students first and consider teaching a mission - their calling.

Smaller class sizes allow you to form real relationships with our faculty. Our alumni will tell you that the connections made here, whether personal or professional, have helped them navigate life even after graduation.

The life you build as a student encompasses more than books, lectures and labs. Our vibrant campus enables you to develop life-long friendships and make memories you will treasure. From classrooms, resident halls and the library to the student recreation and wellness center, you will live and learn in facilities that are modern while paying tribute to our rich history spanning more than 150 years.

Have you ever thought of studying abroad? Maybe you wish to plan Washburn Homecoming or lead a campus organization. Many students get a jump-start on their careers by seeking internships with area businesses. Others take advantage of our close proximity to the Capitol by working in state government. Your opportunities at Washburn are almost limitless.

Washburn University is a special place for me and my family. Two of our children graduated from Washburn, so I know firsthand the impact Washburn has on students and the life-changing difference it can make in people’s lives.

The choices you make on your educational journey are important ones. Great moments await you and the road goes through Washburn University.

Dr. JuliAnn Mazachek
Washburn University

Washburn Board of Regents

The Washburn University Board of Regents is comprised of nine members, appointed by the governor and the mayor of Topeka, Kan. As the governing body of the university, the board oversees and approves academic programs, building plans as well as the university's calendar and budget.

President's Cabinet

John Fritch

John Fritch

  • Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
Luther Lee

Luther Lee

  • Vice President for Administration and Treasurer
Alan Bearman

Alan Bearman

  • Vice President for Strategic Enrollment Management and Student Success, Dean of Libraries and Professor of History
Eric Grospitch

Eric Grospitch

  • Vice President for Student Life
Marshall Meek

Marshall Meek

  • President, Washburn University Alumni Association and Foundation
Cynthia Holthaus

Cynthia Holthaus

  • Chief of Staff and Director of Government Relations
Marc Fried

Marc Fried

  • General Counsel and Secretary of the Board of Regents
Loren Ferré

Loren Ferré

  • Director of Athletics
Michelle Godinet

Michelle Godinet

  • Director of Equal Opportunity
Lori Hutchinson

Lori Hutchinson

  • Executive Director of Strategic Communications and Marketing
Christa Smith

Christa Smith

  • Executive Director, Strategic Analysis, Research and Reporting
Renee Burlingham

Renee Burlingham

  • Senior Executive Asst. to the President

President's Leadership Advisory Council

The President's Leadership Advisory Council is a consultative body working collaboratively with the president to advance the vision, strategic priorities and actions to move Washburn forward.

The council's purpose is to improve communication and coordination between units, share goals and initiatives each is pursuing and identify opportunities to create synergies and streamline efforts across campus. Members of the council include the president, the president's cabinet, deans and senior leaders.

  • JuliAnn Mazachek, President
  • Jennifer Ball, associate v.p. for academic affairs
  • Alan Bearman, v.p. for strategic enrollment management and student success
  • Sean Bird, sr. assoc. dean for university libraries
  • Renee Burlingham, sr. exec. asst. to the president
  • Jane Carpenter, dean, School of Nursing
  • Tim Clothier, interim dean, Washburn Tech
  • Teresa Clounch, assoc. v.p. for student life and dean of students
  • Kelly Erby, interim dean, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Zach Frank, dean, School of Applied Studies
  • Lauren Frost, assoc. athletic director, compliance
  • Michelle Godinet, Title IX Equal Opportunity Director
  • John Haverty, chief information officer
  • Cynthia Holthaus, chief of staff and dir. of government relations
  • Lori Hutchinson, exec. dir. of strategic communications and marketing
  • Jeffrey Jackson, interim dean, School of Law
  • Eric Just, asst. v.p. for facilities services
  • Judy Korb, interim dean, Washburn Tech
  • Luther Lee, v.p. for administration and treasurer
  • Teresa Lee, asst. v.p., human resources
  • Steve Luoma, chief strategic enrollment management systems officer
  • Marshall Meek, president, WU Alumni Association & Foundation
  • Patrick Mikesic, exec. dir. of development & alumni relations, School of Law
  • Beth O'Neill, asst. provost for curricula & program innovation
  • Chris Parker, exec. dir. of development, WU Alumni Associate & Foundation
  • Christa Smith, dir. strategic analysis, research & reporting
  • David Sollars, dean, School of Business
  • Laura Stephenson, interim provost and v.p. for academic affairs
  • Gina Stewart, WU Alumni Association & Foundation
  • Sarah Towle, exec. dir. of engagement, WU Alumni Association & Foundation
  • Danny Wade, asst. provost for faculty development
  • Debbie White, asst. v.p. finance
  • Jennifer Wiard, asst. dean for student success
back to top button