Washburn University's 2019 HLC Reaffirmation of Accreditation

Washburn University received reaffirmation of our accreditation in July 2019 from the Higher Learning Commission (HLC). Click here to read the entire HCL letter reaffirming this accreditation.

We completed our comprehensive tenth-year reaffirmation of accreditation in spring 2019, demonstrating our institutional effectiveness and providing evidence through an Assurance Argument that we meet the HLC criteria for accreditation. Our self study culminated in a site visit of peer evaluators March 25-March 26, 2019 when they verified the evidence presented in the Assurance Argument. Their team report was submitted to the HLC for review, culminating with the Institutional Actions Council voting to continue Washburn University's accreditation.

As part of the HLC review process, our students participated in a survey in January 2019. You can view those results here.

We encouraged campus interest and involvement in reviewing the Assurance Argument to ensure we provided useful insights as Washburn engaged the community in the ongoing pursuit of excellence. Feedback was provided to the team by emailing:


The campus community was encouraged to take part in the on-campus meetings conducted by the peer evaluators while they were on campus. Details of the HLC meetings can be found further down on this page.


The HLC peer reviewers participated in three open forums and three drop-in sessions during their visit to the Washburn University campuses so they could hear directly from the general university community.

Open Forums

Note: The open forums were focused on faculty and staff but students were allowed if interested.

  • March 25, 2019: This session focused on the quality of teaching and the support of teaching efforts at Washburn University (criteria 3 and 4). We discussed if the institution provides high quality education, wherever and however its offerings are delivered. We also talked about how Washburn demonstrates responsibility for the quality of educational programs, learning environments, and support services, and how we evaluate our effectiveness for student learning through processes designed to promote continuous improvement.
  • March 25, 2019: This session focused on our mission and integrity (criteria 1 and 2). There was a discussion concerning if the institution’s mission is clear and articulated publicly; does it guides the institution’s operations. We will also talk about if the institution acts with integrity; if our conduct is ethical and responsible.
  • March 26, 2019: This session focused on finances and if we have the structure to support Washburn into the future (criterion 5).

Drop-in Sessions

Drop-in sessions were designed for those who wished to speak individually with an HLC peer reviewer (outside of a public forum). There were three on Monday, March 25, 2019 in the Shawnee Room (Memorial Union).

  • 1:30 p.m. - 2:15 p.m.
  • 2:30 p.m. - 3:15 p.m.
  • 4:30 p.m. - 5:15 p.m.

Criterion 1:

  • Alex Glashausser, School of Law
  • Don Williams, Washburn Tech
  • Gerald Bayens, School of Applied Studies
  • Gloria Dye, Education Department
  • Norma Juma, School of Business

Criterion 2:

  • Jo Hunt, School of Law
  • Mark Wilson, Washburn Tech
  • Matt Arterburn, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Pam Foster, Equal Opportunity
  • Tracy Routsong, Communication Studies Department
  • Zach Frank, Allied Health Department

Criterion 3:

  • Clayton Tatro, Washburn Tech
  • James Barraclough, Student Success
  • Jessica Barraclough, Student Activities and Greek Life
  • Kimberly Harrison, Social Work Department
  • Melanie Burdick, C-TEL
  • Sarah Cook, Mathematics/Statistics Department

Criterion 4:

  • Gillian Gabelmann, Washburn Tech
  • Maria Stover, Mass Media Department
  • Sam Leung, Chemistry Department
  • Vickie Kelly, Assessment Coordinator

Criterion 5:

  • Debbie Isaacson, School of Nursing
  • Joel Bluml, Student Life
  • Kayla Waters, Human Services Department
  • Rhonda Thornburg, Budget Director
  • Sean Bird, Mabee Library

Terri Hearrell, Registrar’s Office

Janet Schneider, Academic Scheduling

Nancy Tate, Academic Affairs

Kandace Mars, Financial Aid

Mary Schumacher, Bursar

Clayton Tatro, Washburn Tech

Michelle Lewis, Washburn Tech

Louise Williams, Washburn Tech

Mary Moses, Registrar’s Office

Chad Beaty, Webmaster

Cindy Nebel, Quality Assurance Coordinator

Karen Camarda, Previous Quality Assurance Coordinator

Vickie Kelly, Assessment Coordinator

Nancy Tate, Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs

Kayla Carter, Previous Academic Effectiveness Analyst

Lori Hutchinson, Washburn Institute of Technology, co-chair

Joy Bailes, Public Relations/the President's Office, co-chair

Amy White, School of Nursing

Emily DeShazer, Office of Enrollment Management

Eric Grospitch, Office of Student Life

Matthew Nyquist, Mass Media

Sharon Sullivan, Theatre and Interdisciplinary Studies

Tracie Lutz, Education

Val Vandersluis, KTWU

Zac Surritt (Spring 2019 Washburn University graduate), Washburn Student Government Association

back to top button