Professor, School of Law

Journal articles

  • "Celebrating Volume 50: The Early history of the Washburn Law Journal," 50 Washburn Law Journal 433 (2011).


  • "Evidence." Kansas Bar Association 2011 Kansas Annual Survey.


  • "Revised Kansas Code of Civil Procedure" continuing legal education presentation, Crawford County Bar Association, December 2010; Leavenworth County Bar Association, December 2010; Sam Crow Inn of Court, September 2010; Topeka Women Attorneys Association, August 2010.
  • "The Judicial Process of Revising Jury Instructions for Comprehensibility" (panelist),Writing to Win: Plain Language Jury Instructions, Washburn University School of Law, April 2008


  • House Judiciary Committee in support of SB 35, which would adopt the state courts Federal Rule of Evidence 502 on waiver of attorney-client privilege, March 2011
  • House Judiciary Committee in opposition to bill changing method of selecting court of appeals judges from nonpartisan merit selection to gubernatorial appointment with senate confirmation, February 2011
  • Senate Judiciary Committee, January 2011
  • Testified on behalf of the Kansas Judicial Council Civil Code Advisory Committee before the Kansas House Judiciary Committee about HB 2656, Feb. 11, 2010
  • Testified opposing HCR 5005 and HB 2123, Kansas House Judiciary Committee, Feb. 12, 2009

Awards and honors

  • Justice Award, Kansas Supreme Court (2012)
  • 2011 Distinguished Alumni Award, University of Kansas School of Law


  • Chairman, ABA/AALS Accreditation Site Evaluation Team
  • Kansas Commission on Judicial Performance
  • Style committee liaison, National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws, Uniform Recordation of Custodial Interrogations Act and the Uniform Regulation of Charities Act drafting committees, 2009-
  • Kansas Judicial Council, Civil Code Advisory Committee, 2008-
  • Style committee, National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws, 2008-
  • Board of Directors of Kansas Appleseed Foundation, Inc., 2008-
  • Honorary president, Topeka Bar Association, 2008-09
back to top button