Faculty and Staff


 Cherry O. Steffen

Cherry Steffen

Professor and Chair (785) 670-1943 cherry.steffen@washburn.edu

Educational Background: Ph.D. in Curriculum and Instruction with an emphasis in Science Education

Area of Specialization: STEM education


Susan L. Alexander

Susan AlexanderLecturer in Education (785) 670-1420 susan.alexander@washburn.edu

Educational Background: Ph.D. Teaching & Leadership - Secondary Language Arts Curriculum & Instruction, University of Kansas M.A., Curriculum & Instruction, University of Kansas B.S.E., Curriculum & Instruction, English & French, University of Kansas

Areas of Specialization: Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages, Creative Dramatics in the English Classroom, Secondary Language Arts Education, Foreign Language Instruction, Multicultural Education, Educational Psychology

Educational Licenses Held: Composition & Literature, 7-12, Kansas; French I, II, & III, 7-12, Kansas


Carolyn L. Carlson

Carolyn CarlsonProfessor (785) 670-1474 carolyn.carlson@washburn.edu

Educational Background:  Ph.D., Teaching and Leadership - Literacy, University of Kansas; M.S., Teaching and Leadership - Literacy, University of Kansas; Teacher Preparation Program, Missouri Western State University; B.A., East Asian Languages - Japanese, University of Kansas

Areas of Specialization: Adolescent literacy, Secondary reading specialists, Reading motivation, Reading assessment

 


Lisa Douglass

Lisa Douglass

Assistant Professor (785) 670-1429 lisa.douglass@washburn.edu

Educational Background: PhD Mathematics Education, Ohio State University; MS Mathematics and Science Education, University of Kansas; BS Education, Kansas State University

Areas of Specialization: Inquiry-based teaching and learning Project-based learning K-12 mathematics education


Robyn Dudney

Sr. Admin. Asst., (785) 670-1427, robyn.dudney@washburn.edu


Gloria Dye

Gloria DyeProfessor  (785) 670-1432  gloria.dye@washburn.edu  

Educational Background: Ph.D. Special Education, University of New Mexico Educational Specialist, Educational Administration, University of New Mexico Master's, Multicultural Teacher Education at the Secondary Level, University of New Mexico B.A. Elementary Education, minor in Special Education, Walsh College

Areas of Specialization: Teacher Preparation Special Education (Collaboration, Teaching Strategies) Learning Disabilities  Multicultural Education Comer School Development Program 

Education Licenses Held: Elementary, K-8, New Mexico; Special Education, K-12, New Mexico; Instructional Leader, K-12, New Mexico; Administrative, K-12, New Mexico


Katy Etzel

 Katy Etzel 

Office Assistant (785) 670-1437 katy.etzel@washburn.edu

 


Tracie Lutz 

Tracie Lutz

Lecturer (785) 670-1433 tracie.lutz@washburn.edu 

Educational Background: B.S. in Education, Emporia State University, Minor in Psychology; M. Ed. Washburn University; Reading Specialist, Washburn University

Education Licenses Held:  Kansas License: Reading Specialist K-9 and Elementary K-9 Missouri License:  Elementary Education 1-6, Career CPC

Areas of Specialization:  Teacher Preparation Teacher Motivation Literacy


Tara Porter

Tara PorterLicensure Officer (785) 670-1434 tara.porter@washburn.edu  

Educational Background: B.S. Elementary Education, Emporia State University

Education License Held: K-9 Elementary, KS

 


Michael Rettig 

Michael RettigProfessor (785) 670-1424  michael.rettig@washburn.edu      

Educational Background:  Ph.D. Early Childhood, Special Education,  And Administration, University of Kansas  M.Ed. Special Education, Wichita State University  B.A. Psychology, University of Kansas

Areas of Specialization:  Special Education, Early Childhood Special Education

back to top button