Scholarships for our majors

The Department of Mathematics and Statistics at Washburn University offers a limited number of competitive, merit-based scholarships for qualified students majoring in a Mathematics and Statistics Department degree program.

Who is eligible?

Those majoring in Mathematics, Mathematics for Secondary Education, Actuarial Science, and Applied Statistics are eligible to apply. Students majoring in Elementary Education with an emphasis in Middle School Math also may apply for scholarships from the department.

All students must submit a scholarship application in order to be considered for scholarship funds. Generally, scholarship funds are awarded in the spring semester on a yearly basis.


Scholarship applications for continuing students are due by February 15. Applications for incoming freshman and transfer students have a priority deadline of March 31.

These scholarships are made possible by the generosity of Washburn alumni and friends. The department thanks all those donors who support our scholarship funds through the Washburn University Foundation. Scholarship recipients are asked to write a brief thank you note to the donors.

Scholarship Funds in the Department of Mathematics and Statistics:

  • William C. Carswell Memorial Mathematics Scholarship
  • Edward L. & Julie L Glotzbach Scholarship for Math Fund
  • Susan Glotzbach Memorial Endowed Scholarship Fund
  • Laura Z. Greene Mathematics Scholarship Fund
  • Arden L. Kanode Mathematics Scholarship Fund
  • John Ross & Lydia Greene Kinzer Mathematic Scholarship Fund
  • Mary Lempenau Mathematic Scholarship Fund
  • Terry & Ann McAdam Mathematics Honor Scholarship
  • Richard E. Shermoen Mathematics Scholarship Fund

GET IN TOUCH WITH Department of Mathematics & Statistics

Department of Mathematics & Statistics
Morgan Hall, Room 250
1700 SW College Ave.
Topeka, KS 66621

Phone & Email
Phone: 785.670.1491

back to top button