Donald B. and Twila Catron Sr. Professorship of Art

The Donald B. and Twila Catron Sr. Professorship of Art was established in 2002 by the Jim and Norene Ketcherside family in memory of Norene's parents, to provide expanded teaching content in the Art Department and outreach art activities for the Mulvane Art Museum. Through the past 10 years, the Catron Professors have each defined and shaped the position in unique ways. 

Catron Professorship: 

  • Carey McDougall - 2002-03
  • Marguerite Perret - 2003-2005
  • Elizabeth Knabe Roe - 2005-2008
  • Stephanie Lanter - 2008-2011
  • Jennifer Marsh - 2011-2014
  • Marin Abell - 2014-2017
  • Benjamin Wills - 2017- 2020
  • Dyan Green Akkouche - 2020-2021
  • Deena Amont - 2022-present

The Catron Profesor is a one-year position, renewable to 3 years, in which the professor teaches courses in the Art Department related to a specialty area in the arts as well as develops creative educational programs serving communities throughout Kansas. The Catron Professorship has been immensely valuable to the Art Department by bringing in new ideas and fresh perspectives about the art world to our campus, as well as taking Washburn Art connections to the larger community.

GET IN TOUCH WITH Art Department

Art Department
Washburn University
1700 SW College Ave.
Topeka, KS 66621

Phone & Email
Phone: 785.670.1125
Office Hours:
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Monday-Friday

back to top button