The Chemistry Department offers scholarships to students majoring in chemistry. The amount of scholarship is degree dependent.

  • B.S. Degree: $600 - $1,500
  • B.A. Degree: $500 - $1,200

Available Departmental Scholarships

  • Carswell Memorial Scholarship
  • C. Ronald Dayton Memorial Scholarship
  • Walter W. Deschner Chemistry Scholarship
  • Dr. Robert H. Glazier Science Scholarship
  • Dr. Eugene A. and Viola M. Ramskill Scholarship
  • Tom and Fay Scott Memorial Scholarship Fund
  • Steven W. Weeks Scholarship Fund
  • Chi Che Wang Scholarship
  • Susan J. Snyder Scholarship
  • Dr. Sheldon & Virginia Cohen Fund of Excellence
  • Dr. Janice S. Barton Biochemistry Scholarship
  • Sara Lu Carter Science Scholarship
  • John M. and Comfort Shaw Scholarship
  • Catherine H. Conard and Edith Conard Frisinger Chemistry Scholarship

Scholarship recipients will be selected from those applicants who satisfy the criteria listed below.

  1. A "B" average in all completed high school work.
  2. A "B" average in all completed college work for transfer students.
  3. A combined ACT score of 25 or above.

Scholarship recipients are expected to declare a major in chemistry, enroll in CH 151 or higher numbered chemistry course, and participate in the Chemistry Club and other departmental activities requiring student involvement. Half of the scholarship is awarded for the first semester at Washburn, with the remainder awarded at the beginning of the spring semester, with the expectation the chemistry course is passed with a grade of "B" or better.

Download Scholarship Application for Incoming Students

In addition to submitting the application form, you must also send a copy of your high school and college (if applicable) transcripts. A letter of support from your most recent chemistry teacher or guidance counselor may be helpful but is not required.

Please send application form, transcript(s), and letter of support to:

Dr. Shaun Schmidt
Department of Chemistry
Washburn University
1700 SW College Ave
Topeka, KS 66621

All application materials must be received by Feb. 28, 2024.

For consideration of a chemistry scholarship, the student must satisfy the criteria listed below.

  1. During the previous year enrolled in at least one chemistry course at the level of CH 151 or higher each semester.
  2. Must be in good academic standing at Washburn.
  3. Participated in the Chemistry Club and other departmental activities requiring student involvement.
  4. Enroll in 12 credit hours each semester.

Download Scholarship Application for Current Students (Please return application to the Chemistry Department)

GET IN TOUCH WITH Department of Chemistry

Department of Chemistry
Stoffer Science Hall, Room 312
1700 SW College Ave
Topeka, KS 66621

Phone & Email
Phone: 785.670.2270

back to top button